RSS Feed

Complimentary Military Series Portraits in

Baby Portraits by Photographer Durango COBaby Portraits by Durango CO PhotographerBaby Portraits by Photographer in Durango COFamily Portraits by Durango CO Photographer

I’ve been doing free portraits for military families to thank them for their service.  Michael was stationed in Japan and Iraq.  I asked if he had  ever been in combat, and he said he had been shot at.  So glad he’s home safe and sound.  Sarah is glad to have him home as well and she is such a beautiful person.  Joshua was asleep for the first part of our session, but soon got tired of me trying to pose him and told me loud and clear how he felt about it.  We managed some beautiful images, especially at sunset.  It was a stormy evening as you can probably tell by the dark clouds, but I love when the weather is stormy like this.

About karenskellyphoto

Hello there! I'm a Certified Professional Photographer serving the entire Western Slope of Colorado, including Durango CO, Cortez CO, Silverton CO, Ouray CO, Telluride CO, Pagosa Springs CO, and Farmington NM. I love photographing the emotions during a family session or wedding; the love, hugs, kisses, tears, and laughs. Please view my website at www.karenskellyphoto.com, and read the "About" page for more information. Thanks for looking. Karen

4 responses »

  1. These baby shots are great. I used to work at a portrait studio, and I always had a really hard time posing them. It takes someone really special to be able to capture these types of images … and yours are great. Do you have tips for people when posing babies and what kind of environments work the best?

    Reply
    • Hi Emily. Thanks for the compliment on my images. Every baby, child, and family is different so it’s hard to say one thing will work for all. With newborns, I try to make sure they’re fed right before they get to me, or even at the location before we shoot. This usually makes them sleepy and it’s easier to shoot a sleeping baby than a crying baby. I know in this shoot I totally forgot to have mom put her finger on baby’s tongue to get him to close his mouth. Will toddlers, I use a long duster (from Amazon), that I use as a tickler. Move it to wherever you want their eyes to go. Loud noises like a squeaky chicken works as well. Good luck.

      Reply
  2. Amazing baby poses 🙂

    Reply
  3. Very inspiring! I especially love the very first photo! And THANK YOU so much for honoring military service members by offering free services! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

